Admittedly, I’m a clothing junkie…it’s not that harmful of a habit since I sleuth out many things from secondhand and antique stores or majorly discounted. At least that’s the way I’m rationalizing it. Works for me.

I’d like to share one of my favorite places to shop: Forget Me Not, Robin Mullins’ eclectic mixture of retail nirvana, at 129A E. Main Street, Abingdon, VA. http://www.facebook.com/pages/Forget-Me-Not/82640158906.

Not only does the store carry lovely, funky, gutsy clothing and boots (Fryes are my favorites!) for ladies, but they can boast a wide collection of scarves, hats, jewelry and perfume. I’m not lying when I tell you that I receive compliments when I wear anything that I’ve purchased there (girl scout’s honor)…even tights!

“Located in an old apothecary in Abingdon’s historic district. Specializing in soft,feminine clothing, cool shoes and exquisite jewelry, unique gifts and cards, scents and other goodies!” as Robin Mullins writes on her facebook page.

Forget Me Not (and Robin) will always have a special place in my heart because I skulked into the store a few months post-partum, feeling like a lump of dough, and Robin showed me how to play up the postive things about myself…which basically were nursing mother’s acutrements (you know what I mean).

Six years later, I’m still going to her store to shop, or sometimes just to say hello. We’ve become good friends, and I just know we’re related somewhere back in history. It’s almost like therapy to walk in, inhale those natural flower essence perfumes she stocks and feast my eyes on the clothing, in all their splendid colors. Robin is one of those rare clothing store owners who will tell you if something looks terrible and takes the time to help you choose the right colors, cuts and styles for her customer. She’s an amazing woman in her own right, with movie credits and a career as an artist.

My latest deal occured last week–oh so cute elfish grey short boots that are so comfortable I wanna sleep in them. All of her shoes were marked 50% off, except the Frye boots. Darn it! I also found a black dress with embroidery that will work as a tunic for the winter at a major discount. Yes, I was tempted by her $20-some scarves but held myself back so I can visit after Christmas. 😉

Tell me what you think of this rare find in Abingdon, VA!

Do visit, tell Robin you read about her in my Abingdon blog, and peruse her store’s wares, but I will warn you it’s difficult to leave empty-handed.